Skip to content

I Don’t Much Care What I Think

October 14, 2014

EBOLA, EBOLA, EBOLA!  Okay, is everyone freaked out beyond rationality now?  Great, we can start.

As I wandered around the net this morning, I ran across a pointer to this article.  I don’t know if I can really call it news.  It’s more an agglomeration of opinion.  In fact, I’m shocked that it doesn’t have five or six anecdotal tweets and a couple Facebook posts from semi-famous people.  But anyway:

Nearly two-thirds of Americans say they are concerned about an Ebola outbreak in the United States, and about the same amount say they want flight restrictions from the countries in West Africa where the disease has quickly spread.

A new poll from the Washington Post and ABC News shows 67 percent of people say they would support restricting entry to the United States from countries struggling with Ebola. Another 91 percent would like to see stricter screening procedures at U.S. airports in response to the disease’s spread.

So… I don’t care.  Not that I don’t care about health and safety, but I don’t care what a bunch of random people think about health and safety.  Sure, I’d prefer that we, perhaps, do a better job of identifying the disease better, and the real spokespeople talking about it are pretty clueless on how to communicate to normal humans.  But what five people down the street think we should do about it with the low amount of information they have doesn’t really concern me.

Look, I know this is a typically devastating disease that spreads in some scary ways.  And I’m on the road quite a bit, interacting with people who have also been all over the road.  We all have to take our precautions to stay well, and we might get sick.  I’m likely to get a cold the next trip I take given my schedule, interactions, and the like.  I have to deal with that.

But really, stop asking 100 random people how to solve the crisis.  You’ll get answers ranging from, “shoot them now,” to, “use cannabis and breast milk,” as solutions.  And they’ll all be wrong.  Oh, and worse, the poll-driven government will probably start to think they need some mix of Guantanamo and breast milk for all flyers, since they clearly don’t have any idea on how to process and handle information that they should be using to make intelligent decisions.

But then again, if I don’t care what I think, other people probably don’t care either.  I hope nobody polls me.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2014 9:34 am

    Having listened now to Congressional hearings, where they ask heads of CDC, CDP, Homeland Security, and other relevant agencies what they’re doing, I am troubled. They don’t know what they are doing, in every sense of the phrase. And they are each motivated (evident in their testimony) by political rather than health and safety considerations, and perfectly willing to blatantly and transparently lie to and mislead Congress, just to get out of the room.

    If Ebola was an even more serious threat, we would be doomed. As it is, there will be a lot of harm done merely because we can’t be bothered to get this right.

    A hundred random uneducated people are likely to have better answers.

    ===|==============/ Keith DeHavelle

    • October 15, 2014 7:30 am

      The old William Buckley adage of being governed by the first 50 people in the phonebook than by the government…

      I’m fine with replacing the people who currently have the information, but I’m not okay with randomly running on opinion. Wait, randomly running on opinion is why I want to replace the people who currently have the information…

Leave a Reply

