Skip to content

Cold, Hard Reasoning

October 11, 2014

I just thought this post on the benefits of using cash from Dave Ramsey is very good.  I’m a fan of using cash… or not using cash as the case may be.

You spend less when you use cash. Plastic doesn’t hurt like cash. Once you’ve spent some quality time with Benjamin Franklin, you’ll think twice before sending him to a cold, hard cash-register coffin. To stretch his life a bit, you’ll shop around, look for deals, and naturally spend less.

I have to admit, there’s a big difference in having $50 in my wallet.  If it’s a mix of 10’s, 5’s, and such, it disappears a lot faster than if I have a single $50.  And when the cash is out, then I’m out of easy ways to spend.  Maybe it’s just that I’m a cheapskate, but it’s a lot harder to spend money than it is to swipe a card.

Besides, it’s a lot harder to track.  But maybe that’s just me.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

