Skip to content

Some Comments, If We Can Afford It

October 4, 2013

I’ve avoided talking much about the government shutdown and the fight over the budget.  The main reason is that there’s no strategy by either side… they’re tactically responding with no end goal in mind other than grade-school taunting.  The other reason is, well, really there’s no other reason.  I’m not seeing anything decent coming out of a game of chicken with the US in the middle.  I do have my rooting interests, which aren’t relevant.

But with that, I’ve noted a couple things, which are worth saying on a slow day where I can’t find anything else to post.

  • I note that the president cancelled his Asia trip, but with no plan to really do anything now that he’s staying home.  Hey, in the least this is deciding to cut unessential costs, since we don’t have a solid foreign policy plan anyway…
  • I have to say, telling the other side that they have to do what you want before you’ll negotiate for anything they want is not a winning plan.  I do not at all think that the Republicans are in the clear, but they’re doing what they view as their duty — as listed by the constitution — to submit a budget and then negotiate.  It’s not that easy to negotiate when the other side slams the door.
  • And hey, it’s true that the shutdown affects everyone.  I got a trip cancelled for next week because I was supposed to visit a government agency, and my main contact is on furlough.  Of course, given my normal travel schedule, I don’t know that I’m unhappy.  I’m sure my contact is unhappy about not getting paid…
  • Actually, let me pick on the R side a bit.  They called their shot on this a while ago, but didn’t put any plan in place on how to actually execute.  A strategy of hope doesn’t play well, and I wonder if they shouldn’t have spent more time gaming out the reaction.  I somehow expect that they hadn’t thought through the reaction in their own organization…

Either way, I expect that we don’t have a clean way out of the mess we’ve created, unless one side actually agrees to give a bit.  At this point, I think we’ll mostly stumble to a point where the public rebels and both sides have to blink.  I wonder which one does first?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2013 1:44 pm

    This explains our next few years:
    Matthew 24:9-13,21
    9. Then shall they deliver you up to be afflicted, and shall kill you: and ye shall be hated of all nations for my name’s sake.
    10. And then shall many be offended, and shall betray on another, and shall hate one another.11. And many false prophets shall rise, and shall deceive many.
    12. And because iniquity shall abound, the love of many shall wax cold.
    13. But he that shall endure unto the end, the same shall be saved

    21. for then shall be great tribulation, such as was not since the beginning of the world to this time, nor ever shall be

  2. October 4, 2013 1:28 pm

    Cancelling his trip saved us enough to support an entire family for a year, including the grandchildren

    • October 4, 2013 9:10 pm

      Yea, but if it went to support, the government would count it as taxable income.

Leave a Reply

