Skip to content

Jobs Are Good

August 1, 2013

This is what I get for not having a TV right now.  I usually try to record Cavuto, but we’re without TV in my recent move.  That’s enlightening on its own, but that’s a different story.

Anyway, Katie Pavlich noted his editorial the other day:

Yesterday on his show, Fox News anchor Neil Cavuto dedicated his daily “common sense” segment to the good old days when kids (and adults) were grateful for any job they could find. Remember when any job was a good job? I do. I remember my first real job as a restaurant hostess. The day I got hired, I was the happiest kid in the world. I made minimum wage and even though I bussed tables, the waiters rarely split their tips with me. But guess what? I didn’t care because I had a job and worked hard anyway.

And I’m all over this… I started mowing lawn at age 10, mostly because my parents were concerned that the older neighbors were going to die trying to do it on their own.  But that was the start of my working career, and I spent pretty much every moment I could from there doing some form of job or another.  My first real employment was at Wendy’s, where I ended up being one of the only high-school kids who would be willing to open the store in the morning during the summer or on weekends.  I made enough to pay for gas, buy used books, and play on the cheap golf courses.  It was awesome.

The lovely wife made a comment to me the other day on this.  I’ve been at the same company for 23 years.  While I like it less on some days than others, I’ve never really thought of just quitting because I hated it.  I work, they pay me, we both get some benefit out of it.  I never thought of myself as a growing rarity, but maybe so.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2013 7:37 am

    Mowing lawns at 10, paper route, working as a bag boy, fast food (eventually the new “Wendy’s”) then into machining and software development. And other things along the way. We’ve definitely followed similar paths. Those paths are actually more readily available now than ever … but things are peculiar, and people grow up in a bath of “modern media mores” believing that this is no longer desirable.

    It is hard for me to imagine an effective way to reset this that is not traumatic on its own.

    ===|==============/ Keith DeHavelle

    • August 5, 2013 8:26 am

      Even some of the smartest and most motivated kids I meet don’t seem to want to work for someone else. I think it’s a cultural shift that does not bode well.

    • August 6, 2013 8:18 am

      I was thinking how similar his path was to mine, too! Well the female version. A lovely neighbor who lived in the mansion that predated the subdivision paid me for housework starting at age 10. Then babysitting. Then fast food. I loved my job at Capt D’s & was the only teenager willing & allowed to close shop on school nights. (State regs now generally prevent this, I believe) I was able to afford my car, gas, insurance, and the inevitable mall shopping addiction, provided I stuck to the clearance racks. It was awesome!

      Now, I see that the default position is that teenagers, college kids should NOT work b/c it will interfere w their studies/extracurriculars. It does not bode well at all.

      cheers y’all!
      Lin

      • August 6, 2013 8:32 am

        My parents always watched my (admittedly bad) grades and told me I needed to quit, but they then always liked that my priorities fit both school and work. Kids these days are in nine clubs and sports after school, what’s the fault of a job?

        • August 6, 2013 8:35 am

          yep my ability to work late hours was contingent on grades not slipping. Good question, what’s the problem with a job being an extracurricular. By frowning on the very idea, we teach the younger generation horrible lessons. Like, their time is more important than those menial jobs, they are entitled to way too much personal time, “following their dream” is more important than paying their bills, and so on.

Leave a Reply

