Skip to content

Can Y’all Hand Me Another One?

June 17, 2013

This is too good to let pass:

Drinking alcohol can make it easier to guess  a person’s background because it affects the brain’s ability to control speech  and accent.

Adapting or changing the accent we grew up  with takes considerable effort by the brain, both in terms of cognitive power  and motor control.

But the more alcohol a person drinks, the  more difficult it is for the brain to control way we pronounce words, say  scientists.

The lovely wife already pokes fun at my accent, which I don’t try too hard to cover.  One of my favorite lines: English is my second language, I’m from southern Ohio.

Honestly, I only have one or two twangs that ID me, but when they come out, they’ll really perplex the listener.

What I actually thought interesting about the article, though:

In 2009 researchers at the University of  Wurzburg in Germany studied the patterns of baby cries in the first five days of  life.

They found that the screams of a five-day-old  French baby have a distinct Gallic twang, while German babies have a Teutonic  quality to their yells.

Experts said the findings suggest that babies  ‘eavesdrop’ on their parent’s conversations while still in the womb and pick up  their accents.

If I read this without context, I’d probably say the whole study was bunk… and I hope government dollars didn’t go into the study (even if it’s not my government).  But still…

Y’all have a good day, now.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2013 2:39 am

    This is my first time go to see at here and i am really impressed to read all at single place.

  2. August 1, 2013 7:37 am

    Appreciation to my father who stated to me concerning this
    webpage, this web site is genuinely amazing.

  3. July 30, 2013 8:03 am

    Hi there i am kavin, its my first time to commenting anywhere, when i read this paragraph
    i thought i could also create comment due to this sensible article.

  4. June 20, 2013 11:32 am

    There’s a “y’all” in Southern Ohio, not the “you all” that I normally hear out of Tennessee. Mostly, though we add r’s and l’s where they shouldn’t be. While I’m not a “warsh the dishes” guy, I often frustrate my wife by saying, “yes, I sawl that when you pointed it out to me.” Don’t get me started on how to pronounce “tour.”

    I did pick up a few long vowel drawls from New Jersey, but those mostly disappeared.

  5. June 20, 2013 10:34 am

    I dunno man, do folks from southern Ohio REALLY have a “y’all-type” accent? Asks the gal from Tennessee. I’m amazed how malleable our accents are, and we don’t even notice it. The British accent seeped into my speech so subtly (while living there) I didn’t believe it until I heard my voice on the answering machine. Also apparently TN + UK = Canadian b/c folks started telling me I sounded Canadian. Have a great day, ay!

    Lin

Leave a Reply

