Skip to content

A Few Random Thoughts, Starting With Facebook

March 26, 2013

It’s a trend now… I’m finding out news faster in my news feed on Facebook then I sometimes do by reading news sites.  Bloggers have trended faster than traditional news sites for breaking things, like the election of Pope Francis, but my NCAA news hit Facebook faster than it even did ESPN in most cases.  Admittedly it’s the length of time required to type, and the quality of the reporting… and I’m sure if I ever got near Twitter I’d see how fast that was, but I’ll stick with blogs and Facebook, thanks.

…Anyway, I saw this on my feed this morning, and then Hot Air pointed to the Fox story that picked up the Facebook post…

“While I support and respect Mark Kelly’s 2nd Amendment rights to purchase,  possess, and use firearms in a safe and responsible manner, his recent  statements to the media made it clear that his intent in purchasing the Sig  Sauer M400 5.56mm rifle from us was for reasons other then for his personal  use,” MacKinlay said in the statement.

He added that the store will return Kelly’s money, donate the rifle to the  Arizona Tactical Officers Association to be raffled as a fundraiser and make an  additional contribution of $1,295 — the value of the rifle — to the Eddie  Eagle GunSafe Program.

Maybe it’s not so easy to get an “assault weapon” after all, at least not if your intent is unclear…

…Incidentally, the Eddie Eagle program has educated well over 18 million kids on what to do if they find a gun, namely leave it alone and find someone responsible.  What it can’t do is apparently make irresponsible people more responsible if the kids find them first.  I wonder how many people can disarm and make safe a gun these days…

…I do notice that Facebook has a new trend protest… people changing profile pictures to equal signs, I’m guessing in favor of equality of marriage.  First, if I have to guess context with no information, I probably don’t get your point.  Second, I’m glad you’re telling your friends what you think, since that’s so brave.  Third, even if anyone disagreed with you on your friends list, do you really think they’d start a flame war?…

…Wait, don’t answer that last one, since I’ve started one or two of those over people’s Facebook views on gun control in the past…

…And, for the record, one man, one woman.  I’ve lost friends and even some family over that one.  If you put it to a vote and I’m on the losing side, then I’m on the losing side. But so far the votes haven’t proven that out…

…But have your fun thinking you’re being courageous anyway.  It saves me from having to affirm you if you’re doing it yourself…

Have a nice day.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

