Skip to content

Happy Birthday Thinkpad

October 5, 2012

The Register reminds me that today is the 20th anniversary of the introduction of the IBM Thinkpad, since then sold to and manufactured by Lenovo.  I’ll admit to being a big fan of the black beast that is the Thinkpad, having used them for close to fifteen years myself.  We’re a multi-TP family, with one system from my workplace, and two additional that the lovely wife and I use for business and personal use.  Otherwise, we’re not all that into technology… I had a person at work take a look at my rather ancient Sony-Ericcson phone (that still has a Cingular logo on it) and comment that it was “a nice, retro, device.”

Today’s Thinkpad systems are still the robust, if chunky, workhorses that drew business users early on.  They’re usually not the prettiest things in the market, but I’ve rarely had the flaky problems that sometimes plague other laptop brands.  Their recent X-1 Carbon introduction keeps the flat black look with a nod to being a bit more sleek.  I can’t say I’ll be able to afford one anytime soon, but I’ll watch the prices just in case they hit a point where I can upgrade the lovely wife to a new system.

I don’t mean to turn this into a product endorsement… okay I sorta’ do.  On occasion, I get very enamored of a product that very nicely fits my particular lifestyle, and the Thinkpad line does that nicely.  I’ll start on the Subaru Forrester some other time…

Anyway, happy birthday to a great product, and I hope for many more, since I’ll need computers for a while.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

