Skip to content

Your Morning Reminder

July 12, 2012

It’s been a hectic week for me, so I’m glad Lynn had a chance to step up and post a few great ones this week.  I’m currently in the world’s best airport waiting for a flight out, and my usual complaint that the rest of the world doesn’t seem to wake up until about 7:30AM Pacific Time stands.  There isn’t a lot to post.

But leave it to Nick Gillespie to find a reason for me to keep reading with his open letter to the youth:

Here’s the irony, too (in a sort of Alanis Morissette sense): You’re getting hosed by the very same group that 45 years ago was bitching and moaning about “the generation gap” and how their parents just didn’t understand what really mattered in life.

Hence, many of the early pop anthems of the baby boomers – technically, those born between 1946 and 1964 but or all intents and purposes folks 55 years and older – focused on how stupid old people were (“don’t criticize what you can’t understand“) and how young people would rather croak themselves then end up like their parents (“I hope I die before I get old“). “We are stardust, we are golden,” sang Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young at Woodstock. “We got to get ourselves back to the garden.” Flash forward four or five decades, a couple of hundred pounds, the odd organ transplant, random arrests and jail stints, and the only garden David Crosby is getting back to is the Olive Garden with its unlimited pasta bowls and breadsticks. What small parts of American life and power the boomers don’t yet run they will soon enough. 

Go read the whole thing, please.  If only to get a decent chuckle.

I’ll see what’s shaking as I’m sitting in the aiport tonight for my return.  Maybe we’ll all be awake by then.

Updated:  I saw that Hot Air picked this up as well.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2012 9:44 am

    remember “better to die young and flame out than grow old?” Oh, what was I thinking? They’re too precious to deny the world of their enlightened greatness and so for OUR sake, they’re making 50 the new 40. What’s sad is that there are a LOT of boomers who have been dragged along and lumped in with the yahoos through no fault of their own. While I poke at my parents for being so involved in politics, at least they are a couple who are trying to fight political gravity for the right reasons….

  2. July 12, 2012 9:02 am

    DANG IT!!! You got to it first!

Trackbacks

  1. You Didn’t Build This, So We Are Going to Take It Away « sitting on the edge of the sandbox, biting my tongue

Leave a Reply

