Skip to content

Who Wants to be a Millionaire?

January 25, 2012

Pretty much everyone, I’d think.  At some point, almost everyone dreams of hitting it big (usually with no effort, but that’s something else).  How many times as a kid did you talk about having scads of bucks and what you’d do with it?  How long did those conversations keep going, or did they ever stop?

Me?  I grew up as a kid in a family that had enough, and also ensured the kids were given a chance to be successful.  I see that in the fact that my parents didn’t go into a lot of debt, they were responsible with their money and time, and they ensured we’d get out of college with little to no debt on the plate.  I’d consider myself fortunate.  After that, I was responsible with my money and time, married the love of my life who was raised in a similar manner, and since then we’ve worked hard to ensure that we’ll get out of every day with little to no debt on the plate.  While what I make never seems to be enough for that Ferrari (I had a V6 Passat for a while, I think that was about as vain as I’ll ever get), we do well with the money that God has given us to steward.

So when I hear all the blather about who pays what taxes, or who got paid by lobbyists, or how much money is “enough,” I get this itch somewhere beetween my shoulder blades.  Have we really devolved as a society that we have to throw our vitriol at people who found a way to get money and keep it?  Does Warren Buffett really have to apologize for being an incredibly smart investor who multiplied what he owned?  Does Mitt Romney need to apologize for making enough in business that he can now be “retired” and live off speaking and investments?

If you offered me a million right now, I don’t know what I’d do… I’d probably make sure a lot of it got donated to some worthwhile charities, or maybe I’d use it to set up a foundation that I’d run to help people, or something.  But I wouldn’t complain because you offered the guy next to me $4 million.  Maybe that’s just me.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2012 8:14 pm

    aah, shaddup ya one-percenter. you’re greeeeeee-dee and ya know it.

    snort

  2. January 26, 2012 8:47 am

    And let’s not even get into the concept of “fair.” If you were truly talking “fair” in anything, it would be everyone giving equally of their portions. If someone has a greater portion, then they’d pay more, but those that have little would still give.

    If you want to say that the rich should pay a higher proportionate tax because they have more that could be excess, then say that. But “fair” is a misnomer that bothers me.

  3. January 25, 2012 3:15 pm

    We need a Department of How Much Is Enough to determine how to punish success. I’m sure federal jobs will be created in the process.

    • ellend permalink
      January 25, 2012 7:55 pm

      Bet you will see that proposed next. Please don’t give them ideas…

  4. Ellend permalink
    January 25, 2012 12:50 pm

    I was wondering whether you or Lynn was going to write a blog entry referencing the so-called economic inequality.

    I hear a lot of people complaining about how they believe how unfair it is that CEO salaries are so much higher than the average worker. I don’t know what they expect the government to do about it. I sure don’t want government involvement in this particular issue, especially not in the form of more regulations. I saw a report that high tech manufacturing jobs are down 28% from the high in 2000. Some of this trend is to move plants closer to where the growing markets are, but I’ll also bet that companies also moved plants offshore to take advantage of cheaper, more available labor and fewer regulations.

Leave a Reply

