Skip to content

Holiday Thoughts

December 23, 2011

As the days wind down to Christmas (my personal holiday this season, and my second-favorite of the year), we at Finding Ponies would like to wish you the best of the season.  Have a ball however you celebrate.  I do have a couple thoughts before I head off to do my last expense report of the year and hit a couple final meetings before I head home.

…now that Libya is libyerated from Ghaddafi, can we now go back to listing Chaunnaka as the most variably-spelled word in the world?

…I saw that the House bailed on any fight and did a unanimous consent this morning on the payroll tax holiday.  Whee.  I was actually watching the TV to see it happen, and it was clear that they’d sent most of the people home already.  It’s amazing what a long flight and anticipation of having to slice up the turkey can do to one’s will.  In the end, I think most of the dumbness will have slipped by the regular people who really don’t notice if their check changes in the first part of the year, and this whole issue will skate.  That said, it was still bad execution on both sides.

…I guess the President and Bo will get to go to Hawaii after all.  I do think it amusing that Bo the dog can get in and out of Hawaii without incident though, as almost any other dog has to do the whole quarrantine thing.

…After my thoughts turn to the birth of my Lord, they nearly immediately turn to how I can best hide a week later for New Years without seeming any more anti-social than I already appear to be.  Just a comment if you intended to invite me to your party.  I’m usually in bed by about 10PM.

I giggled uncontrollably for about a minute after this one.  I really am a geek.

…I’m sure that all these feel-good movies are wonderful, but I’m not going to go see any of them.  The last time the wife and I set foot in a theater was for the first Lord of the Rings, and we generally agreed that it was very loud.  Let me go check out Rudolph on my DVR again.

…a friend on Facebook alerted me to the latest in the decline of Western Civilization.  It doesn’t have the pure impact of that first Shake Weight commercial, but I’d have to guess it’ll go viral.

As a note, we’ll be posting a couple days next week, and likely back to our maddeningly inconsistent selves next year.  Enjoy your time this weekend and next week, and we thank you very much for reading.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Lynn Comp permalink*
    December 26, 2011 10:42 pm

    ok, yeah, I’m inconsistent. But inspired when I post 🙂

  2. December 26, 2011 11:55 am

    I truly look forward to another year of maddeningly inconsistent blogging from you guys.

    Merry Christmas, and Happy Happy New Year!

    And I know what you mean about those parties.

    Lin

Trackbacks

  1. Sorta Blogless Sunday Pinup – Christmas Edition | My Blog
  2. Sorta Blogless Sunday Pinup – Christmas Edition » Pirate's Cove

Leave a Reply

