Skip to content

Do Words Belie Actions?

November 30, 2011

“I’m done with the allegations,” Cain said. “The allegations have been made, I denied them — three times.” – Hermain Cain

I admit, I stared at those words for a few minutes.  Something bugs me.  Nothing I write now is based on evidence, or hearsay, and even as I type I’m not so sure why I’m typing.  But I keep replacing “Cain” with “Peter” in the above quote…

I’ve worked in and around big business for a couple decades now.  I’ve worked with plenty of executives of varying quality and reliability.  And there are always rumors about something.  Heck, the larger the environment, the more likely it is that someone’s talking about you.  The problem begins when you really look at what they’re saying.  At the heart of any complaint lies some form of truth.  It’s the ability to address that truth and correct issues before they become persistent that makes a quality person, and a quality executive.

Several execs I’ve worked for or with have had rumors swirl around philandering (I’ll comment that this isn’t just related to men).  And I can say in specific cases that the rumors are false since I either knew the real situation or I knew people who knew.  Still, a reputation for a wandering eye is usually backed up by… a wandering eye.  It’s the level of giving-in to the temptation that we then discuss.  It’s also to the level of enabling that circles around the person.  Look at former President Clinton.  He was enabled in many ways, and the activities got more brazen until they required cover-up and lying under oath, which then became a case in front of the nation.

Of all the Republican candidates, I probably ID the most with Herman Cain’s positions.  I’m registered as an Independent, so I don’t get to vote in primaries in Oregon, and I’m okay with that.  I’ll let the field shake out, and I’ll make my choice accordingly next November based on how I think the people I vote for will do in the office they’re considering.  Herman Cain would be a likely guy to get my vote, because I believe he’d do some things truly different in the White House.

All that said, I still wonder how true the rumors really are, and what might still come out.  If there was real proof of something illegal, then it will eventually show up.  Life has a way of happening at inconvenient times that dates all through humanity.  You get discovered for your wrongs, and you have to understand about grace and forgiveness to truly recover from them.  But up until then, you deny them… at least until the cock crows.

(As a note: Peter never did get “busted” for his denials.  He later got “busted” for the truth, which is a lot better.  I needed to say that.)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2011 6:04 pm

    Here was the link I was intending, with apologies to Pixar:

    ===|==============/ Keith DeHavelle

  2. November 30, 2011 1:50 pm

    It may be too early to crow, but I too am a supporter of Herman Cain who has been disappointed by his handling of the issue (among other things).

    If the allegations are true, that is bad. Bad for his character, bad that he denied it.

    But even if the allegations are false (the current ones and previous ones), Mr. Cain’s handling of them has been atrocious. From press releases that all but shout “yes he did it but you shouldn’t care” to stumbling, too-careful denials, he has fumbled this.

    And the allegations themselves are so odd that had he handled them well, they’d have been of little import. White has 61 messages from Herman Cain and the most damaging one is a “friendship” autograph on a book? More may come out, but the accusers seem rather challenged in a number of areas.

    The sexual harassment settlements don’t trouble me; I’ve run corporations and such is part of business. I once had an employee sue for racial discrimination — after working for three days and disappearing. He’d literally been reading “How to sue for racial discrimination” instead of working.

    But the affair is a problem. Denying it is a bigger problem. Character really does count, and this would (and should) count him out.

    We have a rather amazing liar in office right now, and that is terrible for the country. At least both the right and the left could count on George W. Bush’s honesty, no matter what, which is why the left had to work so hard to come up with false “Bush Lied” memes to attack what was really his strong point.

    ===|==============/ Keith DeHavelle

    • November 30, 2011 2:52 pm

      I don’t believe there’s a ton of evidence to support the allegations as they are. I just get very confused by the tone of the denails, and the one-liner really hit me.

      • December 2, 2011 5:01 pm

        yeah I agree, that “3 times” thing stuck out. Good thing he didn’t mention a cock crowing.

        • December 7, 2011 6:03 pm

          A large number of sexual jokes are possible with that opening; you may imagine them and then note that I never used any of them. ];-)

          I only mildly suggested above that it was “too early to crow.” Of course, now, the media has crowed three times, then moved to their next target:

          ===|==============/ Keith DeHavelle

Leave a Reply

