Skip to content

Mostly Curious

August 24, 2011
tags:

If I said, “That earthquake yesterday must have been God’s retribution on Washington for all the sin in the US, and New York was affected because it adopted gay marriage,” you’d think I’m a nut.  For the record, I’m not saying that,  by the way.

And yet, I just did a Google search for “Climate Change causes earthquakes” and came up with 3,220,000 results.  Here’s one that’s reasonably cogent:

“The closure or opening of new ocean basins or the build of large mountain bands like the Andes or Tibet itself, those are geological processes that affect the pattern of climate,” said Iaffaldano, an earth scientist with the Australian National University.

“We are showing for the first time that the opposite also is true, that the pattern of climate is then able to affect back in a feedback mechanism the motion of tectonic plates.”

Iaffaldano stressed that his study did not mean that global warming would translate to stronger earthquakes happening more often, with the relevant patterns developing over “the order of millions of years.”

If I’d managed to leave out that last paragraph, I’d probably have the quotes from thousands of blogs that I wouldn’t read.  But I’m just making the point.  I’ll also admit that I’m not sure why this one motivated me to find wireless in the middle of nowhere just so I could post, but it did strike me as relevant while driving yesterday.

By the way, there were 6.5+ million hits for “God caused the DC earthquake,” and probably very few of them are exploring God’s omnipotence.

But overall, this is what gets me about the whole man-caused-climate-change stuff.  I don’t argue that there’s variability in the climate, nor do I even doubt that the existence of a technologically-advanced species has some minor effect.  But the drastic actions recommeded are bordering on Old Testament retribution levels of response.

Okay, enough said, I’m going back to Ezekiel.  I’m at the part of the Valley of the Dry Bones.  Ah, restoration…

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 24, 2011 9:10 pm

    The study does not clearly distinguish between cause, effect, and correlation in the one area studied (the Indian Ocean basin). This doesn’t prevent the catastrophist industry and its sponsoring governments from taking advantage of it, as you noted.

    There are some interesting relationships between solar and lunar activity and quakes, but again the mechanisms are not well understood.

    ===|==============/ Keith DeHavelle

Leave a Reply

