Skip to content

They “hit the road, Jerks”, now “All their ex-es live in Texas”

August 16, 2011

A couple great posts with REAL data & analysis

First: Political Junkie Mom

it seems as though the California legislature–so busy trying to sink the state budget that all common sense has flown out the window–will now ban non-fitted sheets in hotels…

Yeah. With all those budget shortfalls and credit downgrades, California’s legislature worries about fitted sheets and “the contributions of homosexuals in text books” while it’s NOT busy passing “tax the rich” budgets. Remember the “Amazon tax?”

Oh, and the result is ALREADY coming in!!!!

more than 70 affiliates had at that stage already left California, according to online businesses…. Douglass, who sold an internet company she had built for $1.1 million in 2007 when she was just 26, cited multiple reasons for moving to Austin.

(that’d be Austin Texas)

Ah, the Eyes are upon Texas these days – especially thanks to Rick Perry entering the race. But that isn’t the point of this post, I’m more curious in where the jobs seem to be going FROM (California) and where they go TO…

Political Math – “why is Texas’ unemployment so dang high if they’re creating all these jobs?” Ok, that wasn’t his title, but that’s basically the article. I link because  I appreciate a good data grunt who happens to be curmugenly to those who are not. Rock on..from his post

If you are going to comment and you want to introduce some new objection to the Texas job numbers, you MUST provide original data. …I don’t want you to point to some pundit or blog post and take it on their authority, because I’ve already researched several idiot pundits who are talking directly out of their a— when it comes to the data. …I refuse to waste any more of my time on speculative bull—- or “Well, I’ll wager that the Texas jobs don’t really count because…” If you’re willing to wager, take that money and put it towards finding the actual data. In short, put up or shut up.

Seriously, how can you NOT like the guy? Go Read the data, read the data, read the data. Maybe Perry had nothing to do with it (other than getting out of the way?). But Political Math blog’s summary is fair

If Rick Perry had nothing to do with creating jobs in Texas, than why does Obama have something to do with creating jobs anywhere? And why would someone advocate any sort of “job creating” policies if policies don’t seem to matter in when it comes to the decade long governor of Texas?…

I’m a fan (of the blogger, not so much Perry).

UPDATE: Legal Insurrection inspired a round of updated Bumper Stickers I saw in Austin while living there 12 yrs…

  • “Keep Austin Wired”
  • “Not a native Texan – I got here as fast as I could!!!”
  • Don’t mess outside Texas – move!
4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2011 9:40 pm

    I’d have to think that I’d still go jobless rather than live in TX, but then again I still (think) I have a job.

  2. August 17, 2011 7:55 am

    Thanks for the link! Once my 3-y-o goes to bed tonight, I’ll add you to the blogroll!

    • August 17, 2011 9:58 pm

      thanks – love your blog! how do you do it with a 3 yr old??!??

      • August 18, 2011 7:55 am

        Thanks ; ) and re the kid, heh. Notice you’re not on the blog roll as of yet lol. pjHubby has been in the field. So I’m scrambling this week. Fell asleep putting her to bed last night! Will be on track this weekend (um, I hope, as I finish folding piles of laundry!)

Leave a Reply

