Skip to content

A lovely day for a walk…ugh – not THAT kind of walk…

July 31, 2011

On my way home from church with my 10 and 12 year old sons in the car, we were stopped in downtown Portland by a rather small and colorful “march”

Lots of motley people – my sons know the drill when going by protests in Portland. The language used by all the “tolerant types” on their signs is often the kind of talk I tell my sons makes their fellow students appear as if they’ve never read a decent novel or discovered a dictionary (no honey, no one looks cool by using the f-bomb as a noun, adverb, adjective and verb…pity your friends who do). Yes, the party of “intellectuals” so often seem to revert back to the clever risque 7th graders they were – “pushing the envelope” and “mocking The Man”. Yawn.

While my sons were busy not reading the signs, one of them commented on the fact that many people were smoking and they were pretty motley. Yessir, Burnside blocked by the local (not very big) chapter of the “slut walk”. Yea for us.

I’m not sure anyone they marched by were sympathetic – we were busy finding alternate routes last minute in downtown. I certainly will never be able to burn the image out from my memory of the “person who should really have reconsidered going topless”.

Seriously people.  I’m delighted for you that you’re comfortable going nude. Three cheers for you. Now explain to me why exactly I have to be subjected to the experience along WITH you?!??

The conversation with my kids on the rest of the drive home involved the fact that ever since the Garden of Eden, humanity didn’t want to have any consequences for the choices they made. It’s an infantile way of thinking since everything has consequences – you spend $20 on a high end salad and the consequence is you don’t have enough cash to pay for the diet coke to go with it.

Likewise: Block Sunday afternoon traffic because you feel the need to march down Burnside wearing cow print chaps and a bikini – and your point about “dress style should have zero consequences attached to it” is completely moot.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2011 2:32 pm

    some ladies were nude? my boys woulda died laughing.

  2. August 1, 2011 10:08 am

    This would be one of many reasons why I don’t go downtown.

Leave a Reply

