Skip to content

I’m alive, and what a weird trend…

July 6, 2011

7 weeks of re-living “all-the-reasons-I-moved-out” (yes, my parents read my blog. They were pretty done with living in MY house again by the time they moved out of my house…it’s all good),  a trip to Alaska, July 4th weekend and PHEW! “I’m A-L-I-V-E!”

I learned that as a woman I’m not nearly tuned enough to the “unique sensitivities” of women in the workplace to be needed as a volunteer in a local “women at work” network, and the new team I manage (entirely of men) is relieved that I find the entire “baby boomer whining at work feminist” dynamic an opportunity for amusement as opposed to something I’m dead serious about. I’d rather be successful managing the new team – I realized after sending my application in that I might not reflect the appropriate sensitivity to the “headwind” facing women at work and it could be a really long three year stint. Maybe that bad-ittude came through in my application….

Well, at least I’m not the only one…(Pundit and Pundette in a late link)

But a side observation – when traveling in “bastions of left over 1960 hippies”, have you noticed that they’re all playing Van Morrison?

 

 

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 7, 2011 7:31 am

    LOL oh the stories I bet you could tell.

    glad to hear the latest.

    Alaska. Jealous now.

    cheers!

Leave a Reply

