Skip to content

Not Strategic At All

January 19, 2011

For all of you from around the world who read this blog, I just want to point out who represents me in congress.  Thanks to Hot Air for telling me that there was actually something of substance in my Oregon news, because I wouldn’t check myself…

Since the November election, U.S. Rep. David Wu, D-Ore., has lost at least six staffers plus the leadership of a veteran campaign team that guided him to a seventh term amid complaints about his public behavior…

<big snip>

…the staff departures come amid questions about Wu’s behavior during the campaign. On Oct. 27, he gave a speech so negative and loud that a Washington County Democratic Party member complained formally to his office.

The outburst was followed two days later by an episode at Portland International Airport, where Wu used his influence as a member of Congress to enter a restricted area and campaign for votes from off-loading passengers. One passenger filed a complaint, and a Transportation Security Administration employee was later required to be retrained for his lapse in letting Wu past security.

I have personally met Congressman Wu once.  I was in DC on some technology meetings, and I was asked to go with a colleague to visit him to discuss some security technology initiatives with him.  Given that he represents one of the most technical districts in the nation, he’s considered a technology expert.  I can say I was impressed with his technology staff, and that he tried to understand our position.  I can’t say that I left confident that he would actually represent the desires of his district.

I would hope that the Congressman is okay, and that his personal life works out in a way that doesn’t affect his professional job.

I also hope that those of us in the 1st district figure out who’s representing us these days.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 20, 2011 10:46 am

    I, and several members of my industry, met with Congressman Wu’s staff about pending legislation. We were told that “that issue isn’t on the Congressman’s radar at this time.”

    What the? How much more “on his radar” could our meeting with his staff create? I don’t think “we” exist for the man. But, I hear he is worried about Klingons.

    http://maxredline.typepad.com/maxredline/2011/01/wu-hu-2.html

Leave a Reply

