Skip to content

It’s All About Your Degree

January 6, 2011

For the record, I have a Bachelors of Electrical Engineering from the University of Dayton.  Among the glitterati of MBAs that surround me, I’m considered just a yokel manager.  My stuff still gets shipped, though.  I wonder what happens elsewhere?

America is huge and diverse, but the world of our credentialed experts is quite small, warped, and monotonous — circumscribed largely by the prestigious university and an office in the incestuous Washington–New York corridor. There are plenty of prizes, honors, and degrees among our policy-setters and experts, but very little experience in running a business in Oklahoma, raising a large family in Kansas, or working on an assembly line in Michigan, a military base in Texas, a boat in Alaska, or a ranch in Idaho.

… or a planning team in Oregon/Arizona.  Someday when I grow up, I hope to write half as well as Victor Davis Hanson.  Go read the whole article, and everything else he writes.  In this one, he nicely whacks climate change, stimulus, Ivy-league journalists with no clue about the weight of history, and more!

I have a saying I’ve been using a lot lately.  Experience is built on making some really dumb mistakes, surviving, and learning from them.  Complications happen when people forget that last part.  Me?  I find that I don’t get taken all that seriously anyway, since I’m “just a planner.”  I don’t mind that they forget that I make stuff happen, and I really like saying, “yes I’ll do that,” in a way that is as much a threat as it is a promise.  Meanwhile, they can plug happily along in believing whatever.  I’m happy to see the intellectuals stick to their story.  The consistency enables me to work around them very easily.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

