Skip to content

Dancing Around the Wrong Issues

December 7, 2010

For some reason, I can’t let this one go.  I’m an occasional watcher of Dancing With the Stars on ABC, but I didn’t watch any of the last season.  If they catch me early with a contestant, then I tend to stay hooked, but none of them were intriguing enough to watch this time.  So apparently I missed the fact that the show caused the world to end for a certain sector of humanity, but Katrina Trinko at NRO pointed me to The Smoking Gun for more information.

In the days after Bristol Palin was voted into the finals of “Dancing with the Stars,” viewers from across the country wrote to the Federal Communications Commission accusing the ABC show of everything from running a “payola type program” to “encouraging and promoting teen pregnancy.”

The Smoking Gun obtained the FCC info under a FOIA request.  So really?  We need info on how weird people can be when they dislike people on the show?  You’re reading something from a guy who got in trouble at a USFSA Nationals because I was obviously rooting against a skater I don’t like.  Yes, it’s mean, but I didn’t pitch a fit when said skater had a good routine (in fact, I stood up with the rest of the crowd), and I didn’t blame the judges for being jerks.

Another source of grievances was a hug delivered to the 20-year-old Palin by one of the show’s judges, Carrie Ann Inaba.

Noting that “no other dancer was called over for a hug,” one viewer claimed that the clinch was a “signal for the GOP/Tea Party supporters of Sarah Palin to ‘stuff’ the vote for Bristol Palin, who on both dates had to be dragged over the dance floor.” The writer added, “My 96 year old Mother-in-Law can dance better than Ms. Palin…I want my Government to protect me the viewer from deceptive practices.”

Um… <searching for a reply, searching for a comment>… A HUG is what signalled the world to tweak the vote?  Do these people read what they type?  That’s a conspiracy theory that I’d expect out of a group of people with bad dye jobs and a taste in hooded robes.  News flash: Carrie Ann occasionally gets carried away and hugs a contestent.  Bruno also occasionally goes so over the top that everyone takes two steps away from him.  None of these signal an Illuminatus-like (fixed the spelling) cabal to launch.

I don’t get why people get so sideways about stuff like this.  DWTS is, in fact, a strong popularity contest that has a dance component.  It’s entertainment.  And more to the point, if you so hate the entertainment it’s providing, STOP WATCHING.  Looking at the list this season, I didn’t see anyone that would capture my interest.  So I didn’t watch.  There.  Was that so hard?

Apparently for some people, yes.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2010 8:48 am

    WP is putting comments in the spam box lately. I bet that’s where my last one went.

    • December 8, 2010 10:07 am

      Rest assured that we won’t let you be relegated to spam for long, pal.

  2. December 8, 2010 8:47 am

    It’s HUG-GATE!

    Just one more example of the left coming undone.

    • December 8, 2010 10:09 am

      There are plenty examples of either side coming undone, but this is the first one I’ve seen based on a cheesy dance show/popularity contest. Next they’ll be going nuts when someone goes hunting on a reality show or something.

Leave a Reply

