Skip to content

Intellectual lemmings

November 1, 2010

Something I’ve long observed to be true in my own family – there are a number of people who vote Democratic for the same reason the middle class dad in “the Graduate” voted Republican in the 60’s.

They want to impress other people. They want to be thought of as well educated, the newpapers tell them “intelligent people prescribe to the following positions and beliefs” and because they too want to be in the crowd of “intelligent people”, they follow along. Liberal thought and democratic voting are the ways for people tho demonstrate they are smart, tolerant and just as worldly-wise as the urbanites writing for the NYT.

My aunt once told me how bad bad corporations were sending jobs overseas and it was wrong – unchristian even – to let our people live in poverty instead of economic protectionism and union jobs being dictated. I asked her “have you ever seen Nuevo Laredo to really know the difference between how our poor live vs the poor in the third world?” to which she responded ‘I don’t need or want to go see places like that.’ So much for neither Jew nor Gentile….

She and my uncle are die hard liberal democrats because smart, middle class people – the people they admire, and aspire to look and act like (unlike their podunk conservative farmer parents) – vote democratic too.

This is why the video linked at Michelle Malkin’s site is so utterly delicious. The snide, snarky, condescending self-proclaimed “intellectuals” who are fanboys for the likes of Jon Stewart can’t sort out the difference between Kenyan and Keneysian on a sign. It’s just as good – if not better – than Brietbart asking a protest group what made Beck a coward and the entire group walks away without an answer. One wonders: do they need the laugh track on the show to get their queues “laugh now”??

They are the moths in the flame of the stars they aspire to be like – but don’t have the talent, success, independence of thought or intellectual reasoning to do on their own. A soccer mom last year told me “I’m raising my kids to be little liberals” – I responded “I’m raising my kids to think for themselves”

Sad that this set of people look down on others when they don’t seem to be able to keep their own terms sorted out.

UPDATE: Check out our cross link buddy at “NoOne of Any Import“s reviews about the rally. She saw it first hand (and got the LIVE giggles….she gets all the fun).

UPDATE 2: Hot Air having fun…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2010 4:18 pm

    In the South near where I live, up in Western North Carolina, people have been voting Democratic since the late 1800’s. they vote Dem because their parents did and their grandparents and so on and so on. I used to work with a guy who’s daddy in his dying breath, made him swear that he would always vote democrat. People up there are set in their ways and no one is going to change their minds. Go figure. I reckon they’re so used to the “hardscrabble” life, that they don’t know the difference when it hits ’em in the nose.

    Mike

  2. Ellen D. permalink
    November 2, 2010 3:08 pm

    I like your reply to the woman. I find it interesting that the liberal press calls anyone who disagrees with their point of view as ignorant and irrational.

  3. Lynn Comp permalink
    November 2, 2010 6:55 am

    Um, no….I was too stunned & blurted my retort out…seriously…is voting democratic some new upper middle class “coastal university” merit badge or something?
    US News claims there were 250,000 people there….yeah. Just a different sort of fan boy wanna be’s in the end…

  4. November 2, 2010 6:19 am

    Thanks for the link! Ah, but believe it or not, I didn’t go see it first hand. I watched two hours of it while reading Treacher’s live blog commentation. Close enough? Turns out, hubs had weekend duty and couldn’t leave the area. Bah! Things end up working out, b/c the dog was having a reaction to her new glaucoma meds (or maybe the acorns she was munching) and I would’ve had a few nasty surprises when I returned . . .

    LOL at that soccer mom. Were you able to suppress your gag reflex when she said that?

Leave a Reply

