Skip to content

Hey! Wait, We DID Listen! Hello?

November 1, 2010

I remember a few years back when I told everyone in my organization that I was going to leave for a new job.  My boss kept wandering around after me saying that I was just having a temper tantrum and that I’d stay.  It was only when I got the offer for the new position that everyone got serious about keeping me around.  Why am I reminded of that? No particular reason…

And so we come to the final two days of the midterm elections, and it appears that Democrats have finally figured out that tax-hiking class warfare may not be selling as well as it did in 2008.  Senator Robert Menendez, who chairs the Democratic Senatorial Campaign Committee (DSCC) and is currently working to avoid losing a 10-seat swing and control of the upper chamber, said yesterday on ABC’s This Week that Senate Democrats might consider a temporary extension of the top-bracket tax rates while the economy stagnates:

Let me give a bit hint to people in power.  Deciding you’ll “listen” after everyone has made a decision against you?  That’s not listening.  In fact, it’s a pretty lame ploy that makes you seem like you just want to keep your sandbox.  On top of that, I’m not all that sure that the Democrats would actually follow along.  I’ve detailed this before… if they somehow pull out to win, then they have a “mandate” to keep their policies going.  If they lose, then they can leave it for the Republicans to figure out.  Think of it like mailing a dead gopher to the upcoming congress… via Nepal.

The Republicans stayed consistent in the election cycle, focusing on issues and hoping that voter anger carried the day.  It appears to be working, but we’ll see tomorrow.  Meanwhile, Democratic wheedling won’t do much to blunt the momentum.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

