Skip to content

Well, Crud

November 6, 2012

Quick thoughts:

  • I still think that Mitt Romney was the best candidate that the R’s could have put up, and that he ran a very successful strategy.  At the end, he was making the strategic moves, and the Obama camp was following in desperation.  And yet…
  • I’m still a supporter of the Electoral System, the love-of-my-life wife and I were just arguing about it.  Our nation is a republic, not a democracy, and we have an electoral system to drive the will of a coalition of states, not a mob rule.  It benefitted the R’s in 2000, and it benefits the D’s in 2012.  Stuff happens.
  • The senate did not break for the R’s either.  I didn’t expect the R’s to win a majority, but I did expect a strong Romney surge to pull more R support in the senate.  The House and Senate remain significantly divided, and I don’t think that bodes well for compromise.

Am I unhappy?  I couldn’t really tell you.  The sun will rise tomorrow, and government will grow at a pace that taxes won’t be able to support.  But taxes will be the route.  I wonder what we’ll do as a nation when we relize that we’re still on the same path we were at the beginning of the year when everyone was convinced that we weren’t on a sustainable path…

What the heck, it’s all God’s will, and I’m saved through the Lord, Jesus Christ.  I can’t forget that.

Updated 11/7: I have a couple more thoughts:

  • The “Facebook Friend Analsysis,” has a range of giddy elation to reaching out “on our terms” from the Obama supporters to the rest of the world.  Hey, it’s a victory, and I’d expect people to act victorious.  What I wonder is whether they realize they’re still talking in their own echo chamber.
  • I’m expecting intransigence on the part of the Right, even to the level of pushing the full fiscal cliff. The Left will view this as sour grapes, the Right will view this as forcing fiscal responsibility even if it’s completely painful.
  • As I watch, the Dow is hovering right at 13,000.  Oops, just went under.  If it stays under that, I’m expecting a psychological push down for the week, so let’s all hope that it close above the magic number.  The Q4 numbers are not looking pretty for industry, and this could be the start of a looong glide.
  • By the way, not only did the sun rise in Oregon, but it’s looking to be sunny.  I can get a run in a lunch!  See, I found that pony.
12 Comments leave one →
    • November 9, 2012 12:48 pm

      Tools are available for everyone to use. Social media and data analytics included.

  1. Ellen D. permalink
    November 7, 2012 9:19 pm

    I wish I could be as Zen about the situation, even though I realize there isn’t a darn thing I can do about it now. The question is now whether it will be possible to avoid going over the fiscal cliff at breakneck speed. Raising taxes will not necessarily increase revenues – the president even admitted that it was more about “fairness” than reducing the deficit.

  2. November 7, 2012 4:10 pm

    Hi Jim,

    Long time no see. I just saw your post on Linkedin.

    I hope the country can unite and move forward. Looking at the statistical analysis at 538 for the past year, I pretty much knew the result, as well. The overconfidence of the Romney camp had me wondering though if they were privy to some closely guarded information. It turns out that their internal polling was completely off; while the Obama’s camp’s internals were very accurate.

    I voted Obama, by the way. To me, the alternative was unacceptable. I hope the republicans can learn from this defeat and actually offer a viable choice next time for a wider swath of the country. I would love to have to wrestle over a presidential choice for a change. If they had nominated Hunter, that would have been a touch choice.

    • November 7, 2012 4:49 pm

      Hey, it has been a while. I hope you don’t miss the commute…

      It all came down to turnout, and I think the internal polling was assuming higher for R, and lower for O. Sometimes the best strategy fails because the data are not accurate.

  3. November 7, 2012 8:58 am

    People who have any kind of wealth are already making plans to move it, if they haven’t already.

    I had the argument with my wife about the electoral college, too. She thinks it’s unfair that Alaska and Hawaii pretty much don’t count because the results are usually called before they even have a chance to vote.

    I have a solution for that. Don’t release any election results except local ones until every poll in the country closes. That includes Guam and American Samoa.

    • November 7, 2012 9:18 am

      Stock in news companies would drop like a rock in Nov every four years…

      I’d hope that people, wealthy or not, are minding their money well. Gold, silver, real-estate, art… all good options for people who bet long.

  4. November 7, 2012 8:08 am

    Turns out, Atlas Shrugged isn’t a fictional story, but a how-to manual. ;) Perhaps the only way to promote freedom at this point is in taking Galt’s advice as much as practicable.

    You are so sage, so zen about this Jim. I’m glad, b/c it helps me get my head on straight.

    cheers, ya’ll.
    Lin

    • November 7, 2012 8:26 am

      I have developed a skill over the years to go blank when the emotions I’d otherwise use would be unhelpful.

      Then again, while I held out hope that the polls were wrong somehow, I also generally believe that people who know how to gather data don’t bias it just because they can. So I’d been saying for the last couple weeks that assuming the data was good we already knew the outcome…

      That just means I’ve already been preparing my response. Going Galt can be done in a couple different ways.

  5. November 6, 2012 10:11 pm

    The country is officially fundamentally transformed. I find it hard to believe that a President can be reelected in this economy, and reelected handily. I think the question now is how to work to promote freedom in a country where a small but expending majority is not interested in it.

    • November 6, 2012 10:18 pm

      I’m not sure how to answer that right now. Give me a night’s sleep.

Trackbacks

  1. For Some Reason I’m Smiling Now « NoOneOfAnyImport

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

