Skip to content

Life of Luxury, With More Bugs

March 26, 2012

I usually go through a long list of sites looking for material in the morning before I eventually go back to the same six for source material.  The downside is when I’m looking early, and then nobody’s posted to give me material.  But fear not, I can make chicken salad out of chicken feathers… and maybe I’ll be looking forward to that if Money Mag is correct.  (Pointer from NRO) (updated: The link from Yahoo was broken, but I found it, via Google, on Money… if you go to Google to find a Yahoo article, that tells you all you need to know about both companies.)

The ideal retirement spot is a place where you can live a rich life filled with friends, travel, discovery, physical and intellectual distractions, and opportunities for growth. A super-low cost of living is great, but more important is the quality of life your retirement budget is buying you. Many of the best options for enjoying an enormously enriched retirement lifestyle on even a very modest budget can be found overseas.

Michael Austin points out:

So, either Yahoo’s editors punted on this one and were just wasting space yesterday or they’ve got their finger on the pulse of some slowly gathering current. If they’re right, is this really where America is headed? Only a fraction of us will ever leave the country, but are things spiraling down so quickly that we’re going to be envious of that nice couple down the street who moved last year and now has to boil their water before drinking it? Here’s what’s worrying: If the market still works as a predictor of future economic growth and stability, and if it’s now registering a not-insignificant movement out of the country, or desire to do so, by those who can cut their ties the easiest, then the rest of us better start worrying…

While I admit to wanting to retire to some place with less people, it’s a few hours away from a major US city… not because I want to be near a major US city, but mostly because I’m interested in, um, being an American.  Not a spoiled American expat hoping that the infrastructure doesn’t disintigrate enough that I’m viewed as a target.

I haven’t thought about actual retirement very much.  For one, I’m in my forties, and I plan to stop working when I’m dead.  Now, I do plan to stop being PAID to work long before that so I can volunteer my time for subsistence living and/or find ways to use my skills that aren’t compensated in greedy 1% dollars or something.  But it’ll be here, making the country better in some way… educating people on strategy, teaching kids… I don’t know.

I wonder about people who actually want to just be rich and be done with it.  I don’t begrudge anyone that life if they want it, but what motivated one to stop contributing in some way?  Sure, maybe at some point we all get too tired or too sick to keep putting in the time, but until then, I hope that I keep my desire to add to the skill sets of the country in a positive way.

Now, get off my lawn.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

