Skip to content

Global Whoops-ing All Too True

February 14, 2010

I don’t prattle all that much about Global Warming either way.  In general, “settled consensus” in science is one of my bigger sources of amusement no matter what the topic.  Even if there’s truth to the fact that temperatures are steadily growing over recent times, the “settled consensus” can’t seem to really explain how greenhouse gasses are the only explanation.  I’ve tended to see “SC” (tired of typing it) as a way to stop someone from doing something you don’t like.

Oh, and about that “SC”…

Several researchers have found that the measurements of temperatures in the AGW record that showed temperature increases mainly came from land development and urbanization, not from actual temperature increases.  They have made their findings public through peer-reviewed studies that come at a very bad time for the IPCC and AGW advocates

This doesn’t surprise me much.  Go to the Smithsonian Natural History museum some time and see how much correcting they’re doing on the “missing link” fossil messages.  I’m not arguing the position, I’m arguing that we know all we can, and any action based on the fact that anything is absolute truth in science is bound to look really foolish later on.  Go ask Gallileo, or Einstein, or well, pretty much anyone else.

Fister’s first rule of strategy: Repeat the point until the repeat it back, then move to your next point.

Congratulations to proponenets of Global Warming for getting the above right.  They’ve repeated the point so often, that it’s completely settled in the minds of people who don’t actually understand the data and what it means. (If you want to understand it, by the way…)  Therefore, it can be used as a convenient tool to roll back emissions standards, save polar bears, make better chewing gum, whatever.  The problem comes if the “SC” suddenly goes away.  All those other things that you based on “SC” suddenly lose all momentum.  Strategy is only as good as its baseline, so be careful what you wish for.

One other good link for the day… go read Mark Steyn’s take on the Audi Super Bowl commercial and it’s comparative impacts in other areas.  Happy Sunday, and have a good Monday off.  I will.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2010 8:06 pm

    Dear Webmaster, I’m very interest about it…thanks http://stampcoincollecting.blogspot.com/

  2. February 19, 2010 9:37 am

    Sorry, I didn’t mean you. I was being generic. I knew the anonymous commenter was someone bright and charming!

    My point in my comment is that I know that I don’t know everything, so I question to learn. The proponents of the “SC” in this case seem to prefer assuming that it’s settled and that I should shut up asking questions. Ask a real scientist how that advances research.

  3. Ellen Deleganes permalink
    February 19, 2010 8:06 am

    I wrote the original comment, but forgot to sign it. I hope you didn’t read it as my questioning your headline or labeling you as a whack-job. The proponents of GW are certainly making their point as if it were the truth with a capital T. Those pushing policy based on GW will do whatever it takes to protect their position, including attempting to marginalize and discredit those scientists who dare present evidence to the contrary.

    I really hope the SC goes away on this. The policies that are being discussed seem like they will further damage the economy and continue to grow government.

  4. February 16, 2010 6:42 pm

    I’m always thrilled when non-scientists read a headline and then reply to my questioning of that headline as being a whack-job. Aren’t I the one who’s trying to advance the debate? Guess that only works when I agree with them.

  5. Anonymous permalink
    February 16, 2010 11:11 am

    GW is hardly SC. Unfortunately, those scientists and others who have spoken out questioning the SC have been labeled by some of the MSM as being equivalent to Holocaust deniers. Even if GW is real, there is even less consensus that it has anything to do with the CO2 concentrations.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

